I’m not sure that one can truly prepare oneself for IVF. I began this journey fairly naively, thinking that I would have a baby by now.

Not just the IVF journey, but our journey to have a family. This month marks 5 years since we began trying to have a baby. Husband and I are in our 10th year of marriage and both happily employed in careers we love. We have worked hard to get where we are.

It’s not fair. Period.

I don’t mean to sound ungrateful, but it does become more and more difficult to continue to be happy for others who have what I want so badly. I am happy for them, but sad for us at the same time. I’m pretty sure I’ve typed that exact sentence in a previous post. I don’t mean to sound like a broken record.

Anyways. It is all overwhelming. I think I’ve counted up to 28 pills, three shots, and two patches all in one day. The timing of them all is very important, as some are taken on an empty stomach and others must be taken with food. Shots need to be given within an hour of the same time each day. Oh, and I have to lead a regular life and go to work in the midst of everything.

It is quite the juggle.

I hold on to the hope that one day this will be all worth it. I know it will. I’m just caught up in the meantime, which is a sucky time.

I saw this and it encouraged me today. Thought I would share:

The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases;

His mercies never come to an end;

They are new every morning;

Great is Your faithfulness.

“The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,

“Therefore I will hope in Him.”

~Lamentations 3

 

