It has been busy around here as my sister arrived with her family from Africa on Wednesday and then spending more time with family Thanksgiving Day today. 

On Tuesday, day 5 after the retrieval, I received a phone call letting me know that of our 4 embabies, 2 were looking good and 2 were progressing more slowly than what they’d like. On Wednesday just before 5pm, I received another call that 2 of the embabies had reached the stage where they could be biopsied and frozen. When embryos reach this stage they are called blastocysts. Blastocysts are made up of at least 100 cells and is 0.1-0.2 mm in diameter. The other two embryos they were keeping an eye on had begun to regress. The rate of success for an embryo reaching blastocysts widely varies from 25-60%. 2 out of 4 is pretty good. I thought it would be 2-3 weeks before we received the DNA results, but I was happily surprised when I was told that she was hoping to hear back from the lab by next Friday December 2nd. 

Just wanted to give a quick update. It is 12:03 am as I write this, which means today is my 33rd birthday! It would be the best present ever to receive good reports on our 2 little ones next week. 

