Husband arrived home about 10:45pm Wednesday night. He was in town for just 0ver 12 hours before having to go back to work. Thursday morning was pretty relaxing, as there was no rushing around to leave. This is the latest procedure time we have ever had. Other times we have been down to the surgery center, our appointment time had been much earlier in the morning.

We walked into building, registered, and waited just about 10 minutes before I was called back. Blood pressure and pulse was taken. I signed 87 consents. I changed into my hospital gown, paper hat/shower-cap, and paper booties over my socks. My IV was started and I was given medication to help settle my stomach for the upcoming anesthesia.

They brought back my mom and husband after I was all prepped and ready to go. Husband stayed for just a few minutes, gave me a quick kiss, and then had to leave to get back to his job site in Corpus. The anesthesiologist came in to go over a few things with me and ask more questions.

Dr. G was running a little late, but I always recognize his voice and I heard him as he walked in and greeted all the staff. He knocked on the door of the little room I was in with my mom, came in and greeted us quickly. He still had his bag with him, asked if we had any questions, told my mom they would take good care of me and then left to prep for the procedure.

The nurse came in to get me and my mom left to go out to the waiting room. I walked with the nurse to the OR and she took the blanket that was wrapped around my waist to keep my backside from being exposed. There were at least 8 people in the OR running around as I stood up on a stool, flashed everyone in the room, and then sat down on the OR table. Whatever.

I had two or three people talking around me at once and it was difficult to figure out who was talking to whom. Someone else with anesthesiology was talking to me near my head, while there were two others at my feet arranging my legs in the stirrups. Lovely. They placed three monitors on my chest, took off my glasses, and told me I would start to feel something. As soon as the meds started pumping through the IV I was fading out and the last thing I saw was a mask as they were about to place it over my nose and mouth.

From the time I left the little waiting area with the nurse until I was passed out on the table was about 3 minutes. Maybe even less. I’ve mentioned in many posts about timing being everything with IVF, but it seemed like they were in a hurry today. Normally I am awake long enough to see Dr. G enter the OR, but not today.

I woke up and soon after my mom was with me in recovery. I got dressed and Dr. G came to talk to us. They were able to get 4 eggs. He told me that I might be sore, as they really had to push on my left side. I did not take this too seriously, as I have not had any issues with the last 2 retrievals. I was wheeled to the parking lot and mom drove the 45 minute commute back to The Woodlands. We stopped at IHOP to eat. That has been our place to go since I was in college. We are keeping the tradition alive.

I probably pushed it too much yesterday. I had a little too much confidence in myself and I was worn out and in bed by 9pm, but up around 11. I made it to the restroom, but nearly fainted. It was so strange. I was having serious hot flashes, sweating, and feeling light-headed. This lasted for a few minutes. I made it back to bed and called Husband. I caught my reflection in the mirror and have never seen myself so pale.

The plan was to go in to work today. When I woke up this morning, I adjusted to going in for the second half of the day, but when they called with the fertilization report, I told the nurse about last night and she said it was a vasovagal attack (pretty word for fainting) and that I needed to take it easy today. I called in to work to let them know. Nurse said she would tell Dr. G and then call me back if he wanted me to come in for an exam. She said it was unlikely, but she also told me to contact the office if it happened again during or after office hours or during the weekend and they would put me in touch with the on-call doctor.

Also, I received a phone call this morning about 10:50 to let me know that all four eggs fertilized. They will monitor the embryos to see how many make it to day 5. We will know before Thanksgiving how many have been biopsied on the 5th day for genetic testing. After being biopsied for PGS testing, the embryos will be frozen until we receive the results from the lab, which takes 2-3 weeks. I will start my cycle in the next week or so and I am supposed to call on day 1 so that they can begin monitoring my uterine lining for transfer. As long as everything looks good, we will transfer the one frozen embaby we have from the last IVF cycle.

I’m going to laugh if they call next Tuesday or Wednesday and tell us that all 4 made it to day 5 for biopsy and then they all turn out to be healthy after PGS is complete. There is the possibility that after having 5 miscarriages, we could have 5 babies. Only time will tell…

