My pregnancy test was positive!!!! And while we are very excited that this whole IVF thing worked, I remind myself that this is my 5th positive pregnancy test. Come ON, self! Why did you have to remind me?? 

Quick confession: I’ve actually known for a week that I am pregnant. Last Tuesday 10/6 I went in for my routine progesterone and estrogen check. The nurse called later that afternoon to go over my lab results with me and said that everything was looking good and that the doctor had the lab run a “secret” test. It was a beta test and it came cack positive. They said they would have been happy with my hcg being at a 10 since it was just a week after the transfer, but mine was at 35. 

I couldn’t believe it. She told me that I would come back again Tuesday 10/13 for my “official” test. Whoa! Wait a minute! I’ve been here before and had the test be positive and then my numbers start to go down, indicating a miscarriage. The nurse could tell that I was uncomfortable waiting that long and offered for me to come back on Friday before the weekend to have my numbers checked again. I went in on Friday and the lab results were in that afternoon. Hcg had risen appropriately and was at 131. Phew! Now I could go into the weekend feeling a bit more comfortable. 

The Tuesday we found out, I was so busy at work that I didn’t have time to call Ross. On the way home, I stopped at the grocery store and bought a card that had a lot of pictures of food on the front and when you open it, it says “Let the cravings begin…” Ross opened the card and couldn’t believe it at first. I loved being able to share that moment with him. We called my parents and my mom spontaneously asked us to come over for dinner before we could share our news. Perfect! We called Ross’ parents and talked to them and then called his brother. Tried calling his sister, but we didn’t get in touch with her until the next day. I sent my sister a message that she would get in the morning, as it was the middle of the night in Africa. We got to my parents house and told them the news. 

When I went back to my appointment on Friday and found out my numbers were continuing to rise, I felt comfortable telling a few other family members and close friends. When the official test was confirmed again today, I decided I would share the news on the blog. 

I’ve had some fatigue come and go, my head feels a bit foggy at times, and I’ve had some tenderness in my breasts, but other than that, I have not had many symptoms. I get nervous when the symptoms are not there because in my other pregnancies, especially the first, I had pretty significant symptoms and then they magically began to disappear. I thought I was so lucky, only to find out that my body was terminating the pregnancy. I’m sure you will hear from others who have experienced infertility, that the symptoms of pregnancy are often a comfort. 

Ross and I were able to attend the Texas/OU football game in Dallas over the weekend. We had such a great time, not just at the game, but also spending some time with family, as our brother in law was the person who got the tickets for us and was also there and we stayed at Ross’ brother’s house and we were able to spend time with him, his wife and their precious 5 month old baby boy. 

I will go back to the doctor this coming Friday, 10/16, for more blood work. 

