I may have had one hour of sleep last night, probably due to the fact that I had iced tea at 10pm, but also due to anxiety. I tossed and turned for what seemed like forever. Ross finally came to bed (he’s been working crazy long days) and I thought I’d finally fall asleep, but no. 30-45 minutes later he started snoring and I gave up. It was just after 2am and I went to the living room with my phone, iPad, and pillow and sat in my favorite chair. At 4:30am, I went to wake up Ross since we needed to leave the house by 5am. 

I drove because he woke up with a headache and he was still very groggy. There was no traffic and we were in our parking spot by 5:55am. At 6:05am we walked into the building and registered and then went down to the waiting room. There was just one other couple there that early. We waited about 15 minutes and the I was called back to change and get my IV started. The nurse went over all the consents with us and then Dr G came in to see how we were doing. He visited a few minutes and soon after he left, the anethsialogist came in to go over, yet again, the procedure. 

Another nurse came to get me and we walked down to the OR where I got up on the table and they covered me with warm blankets. That’s my favorite part! The anethsialogist gave me the initial meds to relax me and then I remember the face mask covering my nose and mouth and I was out. Woke up in recovery and got myself dressed when Ross got there and they went over post op instructions. 

Dr G arrived and told us that he was able to retrieve 4 eggs. He appeared optimistic, but I’m nervous. I can’t help it. I’ve been trying so hard to remain positive throughout this cycle, but all the “what ifs” start to creep in and take over. They will call tomorrow morning with a fertilization report. Keep your fingers crossed and say a prayer for us if you think about it. 

They arrived with the wheelchair about 8:45am and I was a little shaky on my feet, but managed to get situated. The tech told me he liked my shirt which says “but first, coffee.” It happens to be one of my favorite shirts too and it speaks the truth! I was rolled through the waiting room, which was pretty full by this time. Made it into the car and Ross drove home. We stopped by McDonalds for breakfast because both of us were so hungry. 

Now, time for a nap…

